Who Knew Paper Towels Could Be This Fun?

28 Dec

Social media usually works best when its has to do with topics that people naturally enjoy talking about.  Do we converse about soap, toothpaste, window cleaner or detergent during the normal course of our day? Maybe if we are discussing chores or errands. And what about paper towels?

When I was on You Tube the other day, I was struck by this prominent  display ad on their home page.

I don’t know why, but I clicked it. To my surprise, I really enjoyed watching the video! It was really clever and creative.

If you are wondering what I am talking about, I’ve embedded the video below. But you do need to listen to the song. It’s not quite the same experience when it is on mute.

The fact that I decided to write a post about Bounty’s Paper Towel Gang shows that yes indeed, paper towels can be a fun conversational topic.

This is part of Bounty’s campaign, “2,000,000 Views To Help Clean Schools.” If the 2M views are reached by January 31,2011, Bounty will donate $200,000 worth of paper towels to schools in need of cleaning supplies.

According to their Facebook page, research shows a connection between academic achievement and school cleanliness.  Who knew?

Leave a comment